World Group action starts in


21 October 2012

Zone Group I - Wins for Chinese Taipei and Denmark


Photo: Paul ZimmerDavis Cup trophy

Needing just one more point to secure their place in Asia/Oceania Zone Group I for another year, Chinese Taipei wasted no time in completing what they had set out to do at the start of this weekend's tie against New Zealand.

The home hero was Liang-Chi Huang, who handled the responsibility of playing as his team's No. 1 by defeating Daniel King-Turner in straight sets 63 76(3) 61 to clinch victory for the hosts at the Kaohsiung Yangming Tennis Courts.

The dead fifth rubber saw New Zealand's Artem Sitak defeat Tsung-Hua Yang 61 76(3) to make the final scoreline a more respectable 3-2.

Victory for Chinese Taipei means another year of Zone Group I action but defeat for New Zealand means the Antipodeans have been relegated to Asia/Oceania Zone Group II next term. They will play Lebanon in the first round.

Nielsen clinches victory for Danes

Frederik Nielsen survived a scare against Timo Nieminen in the first of the reverse singles rubbers on Sunday to clinch victory for the visitors in Helsinki.

The Danish star, who had to play on all three days of the tie, was leading by two-sets-to-love before finally winning the third point for his team with a 63 63 36 26 61 victory over Nieminen in a match that lasted exactly three hours.

It was left to Christoffer Konigsfeldt to wrap up the remaining singles rubber 63 76(7) against Herkko Pollanen to leave the final score 4-1 in Denmark's favour.

Loss for the Finns means relegation to Europe/Africa Zone Group II next year - the draw for which will take place on Tuesday morning.

Denmark, meanwhile, will play Romania in the first round of Europe/Africa Zone Group I in 2013.

Related content

Related news

Related ties

TPE Flag Chinese Taipei v New Zealand NZL Flag 19 Oct 2012 - 21 Oct 2012 View details

FIN Flag Finland v Denmark DEN Flag 19 Oct 2012 - 21 Oct 2012 View details

  • More photos

    • Davis Cup trophyArtem Sitak (NZL)
    • Daniel King-Turner (NZL)Liang-Chi Huang (TPE)
    • Tsung-Hua Yang (TPE)



© ITF Licensing (UK) Ltd. All rights reserved. No portion of this website may be duplicated, redistributed, or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by our Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.