World Group action starts in


22 October 2012

Australia top seeds for 2013 draw


Photo: Florian EiseleAustralian Davis Cup Team

The ITF has announced the seeds for the two remaining zone group draws in next year's Davis Cup by BNP Paribas competition.

Australia will be seeded No. 1 for the 2013 Asia/Oceania Zone Group I draw with Finland the top team in Europe/Africa Zone Group II.

The draws are scheduled to take place at the ITF headquarters in London at 11:30am (10:30 GMT) on Tuesday 23 October.

Three of the four seeds in Asia/Oceania Zone Group I - Australia, Japan and Uzbekistan - competed in this year's World Group play-offs, with the fourth seed - India - having been relegated from the World Group just last year.

The top two seeds in Europe/Africa Zone Group II - Finland and Poland - were both relegated from Zone Group I action this year, with the top seeds having lost a play-off to Denmark at the weekend.

The draws for both these groups were unable to take place last month because the outcome of last weekend's ties between Chinese Taipei and New Zealand and Finland and Denmark affected the possible seeds.

The full seeds are listed below:

Asia/Oceania Zone Group I

1. Australia
2. Japan
3. Uzbekistan
4. India

Remaining nations: China P.R., Chinese Taipei, Indonesia and Korea Rep.

Europe/Africa Zone Group II

1. Finland
2. Portugal
3. Latvia
4. Bosnia/Herzegovina
5. Belarus
6. Hungary
7. Estonia
8. Cyprus

Remaining nations: Benin, Bulgaria, Ireland, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Moldova, Monaco, Tunisia.

Related content




© ITF Licensing (UK) Ltd. All rights reserved. No portion of this website may be duplicated, redistributed, or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by our Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.