World Group action starts in


05 November 2012

Ferrer leads Spanish charge


Photo: Paul ZimmerDavid Ferrer (ESP)

The RFET has announced the Spanish team that will compete in next week’s 100th Davis Cup by BNP Paribas Final against Czech Republic at Prague’s O2 Arena. The team, captained by Alex Corretja, will be David Ferrer, Nicolas Almagro, Marcel Granollers and Marc Lopez, with Feliciano Lopez and Roberto Bautista-Agut travelling with the squad as reserve players.

Spain has seen no reason to disband the team that beat Austria in the quarterfinals and USA in the semifinals, after Rafael Nadal was ruled out with the same injury that has stopped him playing since Wimbledon.

David Ferrer goes into this week’s season-ending ATP World Tour Finals in London in good form having won his last two tournaments; the first in Valencia, and then winning his first ATP Masters title when he beat qualifier Jerzy Janowicz in Paris on Sunday. This will be Ferrer’s fourth Davis Cup final, equalling Feliciano Lopez’s record as the Spanish player to have competed in a final the most times.

Marcel Granollers and Marc Lopez, Spain’s doubles specialists, are also competing at the World Tour Finals having had a good year and being ranked 9th and 10th in the doubles world rankings.

The 100th Davis Cup Final will take place on 16-18 November in Prague. Spain is hoping to retain the Davis Cup and win its sixth title. Czech Republic is looking to capture its second Davis Cup title having won its first as Czechoslovakia in 1980.

Follow this tie as it happens: Live scores or Watch Live

Related content

Related news

    • Final sells out in a day

      25 Oct 2012

      The Davis Cup by BNP Paribas Final is a sell-out after fans rush to buy tickets on the first day they are released to the public

    • Prague to host 100th Davis Cup Final

      02 Oct 2012

      The O2 Arena in Prague will stage the 100th Davis Cup by BNP Paribas Final between Czech Republic and Spain on 16-18 November

Related ties

CZE Flag Czech Republic v Spain ESP Flag 16 Nov 2012 - 18 Nov 2012 View details

Related teams

  • More photos

    • David Ferrer (ESP)Marc Lopez and Marcel Granollers (ESP)
    • Marcel Granollers and Marc Lopez (ESP)Nicolas Almagro (ESP)
    • Nicolas Almagro (ESP)David Ferrer (ESP)



© ITF Licensing (UK) Ltd. All rights reserved. No portion of this website may be duplicated, redistributed, or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by our Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.