World Group action starts in


08 September 2013

Draw made for Asia/Oceania Zone Group IV


Photo: Paul ZimmerDavis Cup trophy

Dubai, Bangladesh, Singapore, Turkmenistan, Iraq and Bahrain will start off in Group A, while Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Jordan, Myanmar and Kyrgyzstan have been placed in Group B for the Asia/Oceania Zone Group IV encounter that is scheduled to get under way at the Aviation Club from Monday.

In Pool A action on the opening day, Bangladesh will face Turkmenistan, while Singapore will play Bahrain and in Group B, Qatar will take on Saudi Arabia and Jordan will meet Myanmar when all four encounters get under way at the Aviation Club tennis courts at 4.30pm (local time).

The placing of teams in the pools was done at a press conference that was attended by Sara Baker, Tournament Director; Hessa Al Kous from the Dubai Sports Council; Adel Aref, Tournament Consultant; Sinead El Sibai from Dubai Duty Free and Tournament Referee Nitin Kanamwar.

The Davis Cup format consists of two singles and a doubles with each team playing each other in the pool before the ‘qualifying’ and ‘relegation’ pools of four teams each are decided at the end of the preliminary round matches.

Qatar captain Sultan Khalfan Al Alawai was confident of making a winning start against Saudi Arabia. “Our focus is to take things one step at a time. This is Davis Cup and anything can happen, but our focus will be definitely to take a step forward into the next group for the next year,” he said.

Turkmenistan skipper Viktor Krasanov was also in a buoyant mood. “We aim to be in Group III for the new season. We have come here to win,” Krasanov said.

And also looking forward was Myanmar’s playing captain Min Min. “We are planning over a five-year period with this young bunch of players. We have to try and get a promotion into Group III next season. That’s the plan,” Min noted.

The draw for the Group III competition that includes hosts UAE along with another seven nations will be held at 11am on Tuesday (September 10).

Group IV draw

Pool A - Bangladesh; Singapore; Turkmenistan; Iraq; Bahrain

Pool B - Qatar; Jordan; Saudi Arabia; Kyrgyzstan; Myanmar

For more information click here.

Related content




© ITF Licensing (UK) Ltd. All rights reserved. No portion of this website may be duplicated, redistributed, or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by our Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.