Fed Cup Final starts in



03 March 2014

Heart Award nominees announced


2014 Heart Award nominees for the World Group and World Group II first round

The ITF has announced a shortlist of ten players to receive the first four Fed Cup Heart Awards of 2014.

Awards will be presented in four categories based on performances in the Fed Cup by BNP Paribas World Group and World Group II first round ties, and the three Zone Group I events that took place in February.

Belinda Bencic (SUI), Angelique Kerber (GER), Karin Knapp (ITA) and Agnieszka Radwanska (POL) have all been shortlisted for the World Group/World Group II award.

Kiki Bertens (NED) and Simona Halep (ROU) have been shortlisted for Europe/Africa Zone Group I; Montserrat Gonzalez (PAR) and Teliana Pereira (BRA) for Americas Zone Group I; and Luksika Kumkhum (THA) and Sabina Sharipova (UZB) for Asia/Oceania Zone Group I.

The players were shortlisted by the Heart Award judging panel, consisting of ITF President Francesco Ricci Bitti and a mixture of former players and members of the international media.

A public vote, running on 3-28 March, is being held on FedCup.com and FedCup.com/es to decide the four winners, who will all receive a cheque to be donated to their chosen charity. The winners will be announced during the week of the Fed Cup World Group semifinals and play-off ties on 19-20 April.

ITF President Francesco Ricci Bitti said: “The Fed Cup Heart Award is entering its sixth year and continues to recognise the outstanding contributions made by players to their country and the competition.

"I would like to acknowledge the efforts of all the players who have helped Fed Cup grow to enjoy the success that it does today.”

The Fed Cup Heart Award is an ITF initiative that was first presented to USA's Melanie Oudin at the 2009 Fed Cup Final. It aims to recognise players who have represented their country with distinction, shown exceptional courage on court and demonstrated outstanding commitment to their team.

A total of five players will be recognised in 2014. Voting has now closed.




© ITF Licensing (UK) Ltd. All rights reserved. No portion of this website may be duplicated, redistributed, or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by our Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.