World Group action starts in


27 September 2011

Great Britain top seeds in Junior Davis Cup Finals


Photo: Michelle Munn-Mace2011 Great Britain Junior Davis Cup team

SAN LUIS POTOSI, MEXICO: The British trio of Kyle Edmund, Luke Bambridge and Evan Hoyt have been named as top seeds for the Junior Davis Cup by BNP Paribas Finals which get underway in San Luis Potosi, Mexico on Tuesday.

Britain won the European qualifying competition and feature the highest ranked player in the competition with Edmund. The 16-year-old junior world No. 27 was part of the British team that finished third here in 2010 and he reached the semifinals at the US Open junior event earlier this month.

The same trio of players, captained by former US Open finalist Greg Rusedski, return to San Luis Potosi determined to claim Great Britain’s first title in the competition. Britain will face Thailand, Germany and No. 8 seeds Canada in their round-robin group.

The Italian team should also be in contention for the title. The second seeds include Gianluigi Quinzi and Stefano Napolitano in their ranks. Both players are ranked in the Top 10 in Europe and in the ITF Junior Top 100, and so should provide formidable competition, as will one of the events most consistent performers, third seeds Australia.

South American teams have often done well in the competition, and Chile, winner of this year’s South American qualifying event, seems the most likely to keep that tradition going. The competition also sees a strong Argentine team, which contains the COSAT numbers 1 and 2, in the form of Pedro Cachin and Juan Pablo Paz.

Japan return as reigning champions with a new, young and talented team, who will look to emulate last year’s surprise champions. The event also welcomes the return of Israel, last seen in the event in 2001.

The Junior Davis Cup by BNP Paribas Finals is the world team championships for players aged 16 & under. A total of 16 boys’ teams have fought their way through tough regional qualifying competitions for the chance to compete in the finals.

The event begins with a round-robin competition, teams being divided into four groups of four teams. The winner of each group qualifies for the knock-out semi-finals, while the remaining nations go into play-offs and fight for position.

The round-robin groups are as follows:


Group A

  1. Great Britain (1)

  2. Thailand

  3. Germany

  4. Canada (8)


Group B

  1. Japan (4)

  2. Tunisia

  3. Ecuador

  4. France (6)


Group C

  1. Australia (3)

  2. Argentina

  3. South Africa

  4. Israel (5)


Group D

  1. Italy (2)

  2. Mexico

  3. Hong Kong, China

  4. Chile (7)

Related content


© ITF Licensing (UK) Ltd. All rights reserved. No portion of this website may be duplicated, redistributed, or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by our Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.