World Group action starts in


21 July 2010

Lyon stages Davis Cup semifinal


Captain Guy Forget and Gael Monfils (FRA)

The French Tennis Federation announced that the Davis Cup by BNP Paribas World Group semifinal between France and Argentina will take place in Lyon on 17-19 September. The tie will be held at the Palais des Sports de Gerland on an indoor hard court, with a seating capacity of 6000.

This is the first time the arena has staged Davis Cup since the historic 1991 Final, when current captain Guy Forget and Henri Leconte teamed up for a 3-1 victory over a strong American side that included Andre Agassi and Pete Sampras. This was France’s first victory in the competition since 1932, but the team has gone on to further titles in 1996 and 2001.

Both France and Argentina have shown impressive form en route to the semifinals. France followed up a 4-1 first round home victory over Germany by stunning defending champions Spain 5-0 in the quarterfinals in Clermont-Ferrand. David Nalbandian has been Argentina’s hero in their 2010 campaign, twice winning the deciding rubber away from home in 3-2 victories over Sweden and Russia.

France has won all four previous meetings against Argentina, although the two nations have not met since 1982, when France scored a 3-2 World Group first round victory in Buenos Aires.

Related content

Related ties

FRA Flag France v Argentina ARG Flag 17 Sep 2010 - 19 Sep 2010 View details

Related teams

  • More photos

    • Captain Guy Forget and Gael Monfils (FRA)Michael Llodra (FRA)
    • French fansTito Vazquez (ARG)
    • Horacio Zeballos (ARG)David Nalbandian (ARG)
    • Captain Guy Forget, Michael Llodra and Julien Benneteau (FRA)

© ITF Licensing (UK) Ltd. All rights reserved. No portion of this website may be duplicated, redistributed, or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by our Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.