Davis Cup Final starts in



Award of Excellence

The Award of Excellence, inaugurated by the ITF and International Tennis Hall of Fame in 2001, is presented to past and present members of a Davis Cup team who best represent the ideals and spirit of the competition.

Honour roll

- 2013: Nenad Zimonjic (SRB)
- 2012: Ivan Lendl (CZE)
- 2011: Emilio Sanchez (ESP)
- 2010: Slobodan Zivojinovic (SRB)
- 2009: Manuel Orantes (ESP)
- 2008: Guillermo Vilas (ARG)
- 2007: Stan Smith (USA)
- 2006: Alex Metreveli (URS)
- 2005: Goran Ivanisevic (CRO) and Miroslav Mecir (SVK)
- 2004: Manuel Santana (ESP)
- 2003: John Newcombe (AUS)
- 2002: Piere Darmon (FRA)
- 2001: Neale Fraser (AUS)

Zimonjic wins 2013 award

Nenad Zimonjic (SRB) receives the Davis Cup Award of Excellence

Nenad Zimonjic was presented with the 2013 Davis Cup Award of Excellence at the Davis Cup by BNP Paribas Final between Serbia and Czech Republic in Belgrade.

Zimonjic has been part of the Serbian Davis Cup team for nearly two decades, with his first nomination in 1995. In 2007, he helped Serbia qualify for the World Group for the first time, partnering with Novak Djokovic for a doubles victory in the play-offs against Australia. In 2010, Zimonjic was a member of the Serbian team that clinched its first-ever Davis Cup title, defeating France 3-2 in a home final in front of enthusiastic fans at the Belgrade Arena.

Zimonjic played a major part in Serbia reaching the Davis Cup Final for a second time in 2013. In the 2013 quarterfinals he partnered with Ilija Bozoljac to win an intense five-set match against the No. 1-ranked Bryan brothers, 76(5) 76(1) 57 46 1513. The win clinched the victory for Serbia over USA, and sent the team into the semifinals, where they defeated Canada.

Zimonjic has played a record 45 ties for his country, with an overall winning record of 40-22, including 13 singles victories and 27 doubles victories.

"Nenad has been a key component of Serbia’s Davis Cup team for 19 years and an inspirational team member,” said ITF President Francesco Ricci Bitti.



Our sponsors

International sponsors of the 2014 Davis Cup Final France v Switzerland

© ITF Licensing (UK) Ltd. All rights reserved. No portion of this website may be duplicated, redistributed, or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by our Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.

Powered by Umbraco

Design by New Brand Vision